Books – 2009

November 22, 2009

Back in the beginning of the year, I decided to participate in a “50 Books in a Year” group. I’ve been a bad participant though – haven’t updated the group and have barely even kept track of the books I have read. Here are the ones that I remember, in no particular order:

  1. Quiverfull (just finished this the other day, so it’s still on my mind)
  2. Find Your Strongest Life (eh)
  3. Making the Terrible Twos Terrific (pretty good)
  4. Becoming Orthodox (basic overview of Orthodoxy)
  5. Eastern Orthodox Christianity (excellent!)
  6. Thirsting for God in a Land of Shallow Wells (also excellent)
  7. Mere Christianity (some parts great, others dull)
  8. The Duggars: 20 and Counting (entertaining at times)
  9. Food Matters (very eye-opening and challenging)
  10. Skinny Bitch (terrible)
  11. Unconditional Parenting (rocked my socks off. Highly, highly recommend)
  12. Mitten Strings for God (really good book for mothers – will definitely re-read)
  13. Our Babies, Ourselves (amazing. will challenge your views on how we raise our babies)
  14. Raising Cain (liked it a lot)
  15. Feast of Faith (basic overview of Divine Liturgy)
  16. Solve Your Child’s Sleep Problems (yes, a self-identified AP mother reading Ferber…he did give me some good ideas on things such as sleep associations, etc.)
  17. No-Cry Sleep Solution (pretty good ideas here)
  18. No-Cry Sleep Solution for Toddlers & Preschoolers
  19. Bringing Up Boys (terrible, do not recommend)
  20. The Continuum Concept (this books gets lots of praise in AP circles, but I found it hard to follow)
  21. Dead Man Walking (really challenged me)
  22. The Wet Nurse’s Tale (fun, beach-read type novel)

Still in progress:

  1. The Feminine Mystique

I’m not sure if there are any more. Twenty-two books really doesn’t seem like much, but keep in mind that this is what I’ve manage to read while mothering a young child and working part-time.

