New Year’s Resolutions

December 31, 2009

My thoughts on resolutions have flip flopped over the years. In the distant past I was a huge fan of resolutions to a fault. I would create 5 resolutions for 5 different areas of my life. It was resolution overload – a wish list for what my perfect life would look like. I’m not sure if I ever achieved a single resolution.

I abandoned resolutions after meeting my husband. He is such a laid-back kind of guy – the kind of person who would never even think of making a resolution. That rubbed off on me for awhile, too. If I did make any resolutions, they were extremely simple (one year I resolved to be more careful when parking the car – a resolution I’ve kept to this day).

In my heart of hearts I am still a resolution fan, though I admittedly have a hard time of distinguishing between “resolution” and “to do list” and “wish list.” This year I will keep it simple, though not as quite as simple as the year I became a better car-parker.

-learn how to menu plan. and do it.

-clean up my family’s diet. Less sugar, more fruits and vegetables.

-blog at least once a month.

-maintain my personal journal and baby’s journal once a month.

These are all things that have been on my mind for awhile. I am hoping that the New Year will help give me a jump start on these plans.

