Sprouting seeds

March 26, 2010

Last week I tried something new… sprouting!

These are lentils that I sprouted and subsequently used to make Spicy Lentil Soup. (The soup was pretty good… not spicy since I left out the red pepper. It tastes very much like something we would eat after church on a fasting day!)

But back to the sprouting. I got the idea and the instructions from this post on the Kitchen Stewardship blog. Why try this at all? My initial reason was just for my own personal amusement. But there are some better reasons here, which include:

  • reducing carbs
  • increasing Vitamins A and C
  • increasing calcium, iron and other minerals
  • decreasing calories/glycemic load

I haven’t read enough yet to truly become convinced that this is the way to eat seeds, but it was certainly an interesting little experiment! I would like to try sprouting a few other things, such as rice, sunflower seeds and something for sandwich sprouts – perhaps broccoli seeds.

One Response to “Sprouting seeds”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Yum! Your lentils are making crave a good soup. Great photo too!

    I don’t have any current food photography tips, though I can tell you that I use Aperture and shoot in raw. I then work with the exposure, contrast, and color enhancement to make my photos what I want them to be. I hope that helps!


Comments are closed.

