Spring cleaning

April 16, 2010

It’s spring, and I like to clean!

For tips on how to tackle your house one area at a time, I really like the Cleaning Grand Plan.

One thing that I am cleaning out of my kitchen this spring is paper towels. I am in the midst of switching to a paperless kitchen. I’m already paperless in a couple of other areas (cloth diapers, mostly cloth napkins, we don’t buy disposable plates/utensils, etc.) It makes sense to take the plunge and rid myself of the paper towels that I have so long relied upon.

I am also switching to non-toxic cleaners. I’ve been wanting to do this for a while, especially since I discovered that one of my favorite cleaners would kill bugs instantly. A good thing if you want to kill bugs… but maybe not a good thing to spray all over the kitchen.

I am making this cleaner mentioned in the link above, since it has basic ingredients that I have on hand:

All-Purpose Cleaner

  • 1/4 cup white vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 gallon (1 liter) hot water
  • a few drops of essential oil (optional)

There are several more cleaning recipes at Keeper of the Home.

One Response to “Spring cleaning”


  1. […] to non-toxic cleaners as I mentioned in my spring cleaning […]


Comments are closed.

