May seem daunting, May seem disturbing: Meet the DivaCup

April 21, 2010

Do any of these describe you:

  • Eco-conscious?
  • Frugal?
  • Do you search for products that hands-down offer the best performance?
  • Are you a woman, or do you know one?
  • Are you more than a little grossed out by this statisticThe average woman throws away 250 to 300 pounds of tampons and pads in her lifetime.

There is an alternative. It is greener. It is cheaper. It offers better protection. Enter… the menstrual cup!

There are many varieties, but I recently sprung for the DivaCup. I’ve been thinking about it for years, but when my crunchy little sister beat me to the punch I had to quickly join her in DivaCup land. The cup cost about $25 (I bought at Amazon.com) and it should last a really long time (I am hoping for 10 years at least – though the company says only one year as their own CYA measure – you can read about that here and here). Contrast the $25 to an estimated $4,200 you could otherwise spend on pads and tampons.

I haven’t been using it for too long, but already I’m totally sold. Women, do you remember when you first started using tampons and you couldn’t believe what you had been missing out on by using pads? Think of the cup as the next phase of this evolution – and I don’t see how it can get much better! As if the other benefits weren’t already enough, I find the cup to be much more comfortable than tampons.

To those who are squeamish the cup probably seems “gross.” And if you think it’s gross then you probably haven’t even read this far… but I still have to tell you, using the cup is actually much cleaner than using tampons or pads. You stay cleaner and so does your bathroom trash can. I was surprised by this since I thought that tampons were as good as it gets, and I wouldn’t have believed it if I hadn’t experienced it myself.

Dear readers, please tell me: have you ever heard of the DivaCup or a similar product? Is your initial reaction positive or negative, and why?

10 Responses to “May seem daunting, May seem disturbing: Meet the DivaCup”

  1. Squawkfox Says:

    I’m always somewhat daunted, disturbed, but actually happy when I see my Diva Cup (and post) mentioned somewhere in the blogosphere. Thank you for the link. And yes, that’s really my Diva Cup in the picture. 🙂

    • Liz Says:

      Hey, awesome! Thank you for visiting! I didn’t realize that was your photo – I am going to edit the caption to make sure you have proper credit for such a great photo!


  2. Thanks, Liz for a great post! We appreciate you bringing attention to this revolutionary alternative for women. Let us know if you would like to offer a sweepstakes to your readers!

    Best wishes,

    Stacey and The DivaCup Team

  3. becca Says:

    your crunchy little sister sounds cool!

  4. Valeri Says:

    I have heard of a similar product and used it, I tried Instead a few years back. It’s a disposable cup – it appealed to be because it lasted 12 hours. I remember liking it at first, but during one of the…let’s call it…. “extractions”… there was a slight mishap and I never used them again. They were shaped a little different with a hard plastic ring. I think it was the design that caused the mishap.

    After looking at DivaCup – I might be interested in trying that.

    • Liz Says:

      Hey Val, that is cool that you tried something like this already. Since it was disposable, I wonder if the quality was not as good? And design is probably a factor like you said. This cup is pretty soft and pliable and it uses suction to stay in place, so once you get the hang of it there really shouldn’t be any mishaps. Seriously, I love it. It’s the little things in life…


  5. I’m so pleased I came across your blog! I’m mid transition to reuseable towels and it’s lovely to see other people who’ve already made the change to more sustainable options. You’re an inspiration!! 🙂


Comments are closed.

