Baby Steps to Green: Ditching the Shampoo

May 24, 2010

Recently I decided to ditch my shampoo and conditioner. When I first heard of the “no ‘poo” movement some time ago, I was under the mistaken impression that people were actually no longer washing their hair at all. Unfortunately my initial understanding (and accompanying reaction!) meant that I remained ignorant of the wonders of being shampoo-free! That all changed when I watched this video about creating your own “shampoo.” Go watch it!

Benefits of being shampoo free:

  • It’s pretty cheap.
  • It’s non-toxic (this was a big reason for me).
  • It means that I am reducing my plastic consumption.
  • I really think my hair looks better. It was dry and dull before and though I tried a few different products, nothing was helping. This makes sense in retrospect – shampoo strips hair of natural oils.

Things I didn’t expect:

  • I really like washing my hair with baking soda – it gives it a deep-clean feeling.
  • I sorta miss using conditioner – the ACV works just fine, but doesn’t have the slimy feel of conditioner.
  • It was very easy to make! The hardest part was finding suitable plastic bottles – I ended up finding some old water bottles that work just fine. Now I keep baking soda and ACV in my bathroom so I can quickly make more as needed.
  • I didn’t expect that I would go through it so fast. Since it mostly water and doesn’t lather much at all, my supplies dwindle quickly. But it’s no big deal – the ingredients are so cheap and it’s so easy to make.

If you need a little more convincing, check out Simple Mom’s article on How to Clean Your Hair Without Shampoo.

Final thought: This was such a painless transition. I should have done it a lot sooner.

2 Responses to “Baby Steps to Green: Ditching the Shampoo”


  1. I (have been saying this forever but I’ll say it again) am gearing up to switch to baking soda/vinegar. I’m just such a chicken! My hair has always been really greasy – I *have* to shampoo every day, if I don’t it’s just gross. So now I’m hemming and hawing about whether to switch during the hot summer months – will it really take care of the grease? I hope so.

    • Liz Says:

      For greasy hair, I have read that you should use a high ratio of water to ACV. Also you might not want to pour the ACV rinse directly on your scalp. I think the woman in the video has the same issue and she mentions this. Just try it! Nothing to lose! 🙂


Comments are closed.

